The office of deacon was introduced in the very first church at Jerusalem, to serve in the running of the church.

Cemetery Road Baptist Church is served by up to 12 deacons. Deacons are the managing trustees, and look to the best interests of the Church by supporting good accountability and structures within the fellowship. They act on behalf of the Church in between Church meetings, and are accountable to the Church meeting.Deacons

Deacons are Church members who are recognised as having good character, mature faith, a servant heart, being worthy of respect, good at encouraging and building relationships, and having wisdom and discernment.  We have up to 12; they are elected for a term of 3 years (2 consecutive terms can be served), and they have a variety of responsibilities including: serving at Holy Communion, supporting the ministry team, leading in making decisions regarding the use of the building, supervising the various duty rotas, and serving with competence on one of our subcommittees: Staffing, Finance, Property/Fabric, Health & Safety, Publicity, Ministry and Worship.

The Officers of the Church (Secretary and Treasurer) are deacons.

The Current deacons, with their areas of responsibility, are – pictured from left to right: Nigel Bonson (Staffing), Isobel Dexter (Publicity), Carol Moore (Secretary, Health & Safety, Ministry & Staffing), Dave Timms (Staffing), Bev Caton (Property Advisory Group), Roo Mahmid (Staffing & Worship), Helen Woolley (Property Advisory Group), and Graham Kitts (Health & Safety). Not pictured: Sara John (Treasurer, Ministry & Staffing), Frances Alwood (Finance & Publicity),